Tags

, , ,

Vincas Mykolaitis-Putinas

Vincas Mykolaitis-Putinas

 

Poet: Vincas Mykolaitis-Putinas

Dates: 6 January 1893 – 7 June 1967

Nationality: Lithuanian

Title of Poem: Summer Sun

I closed my eyes and the sun that midday
Covered my cheeks, my lips it gave
Me such kisses that memory, swirling,
Still surfs all my thoughts into waves.

I opened my eyes from a sunny countenance,
Meeting me, issued your smile
Later, alone and dejected, I wandered
On those barren sanddrifts awhile.

Many the days that passed, they changed nothing:
Seawaves still roll as before,
I close my eyes my lips, cheeks still covered
With midday sun-kisses galore.

Now I remember as I’ve always remembered
We were here together we two;
I can’t figure out, however, who kissed me:
You or the sun or the sun and you?

Translated by Demie Jonaitis

 

Brief Biography: Putinas was an ordained priest who doubted his mission within the priesthood. He caused a scandal in 1933 when he published the novel Shadow of the Altars about a priest doubting and ultimately renouncing his calling. In 1935 Putinas renounced the priesthood. Putinas was also a poet.

