Tags

, , ,

Robert Burns

Robert Burns

 

Poet: Robert Burns

Dates: 25 January 1759 ā€“ 21 July 1796

Nationality: Scottish

Title of Poem: A Red, Red Rose

O my Luve’s like a red, red rose
That’s newly sprung in June;
O my Luve’s like the melodie
That’s sweetly play’d in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
So deep in luve am I:
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry:

Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun:
I will luve thee still, my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.

And fare thee well, my only Luve
And fare thee well, a while!
And I will come again, my Luve,
Tho’ it were ten thousand mile.

 

Brief Biography: Burns was a pioneer of the Romantic Movement and is Scotland’s national poet. His poetry whilst intensely tender were radical and often touched on Scottish issues of the day such as republicanism, poverty, class and inequality. The intense emotional highs and lows of his work and his own references to blue devilism suggest Burns was a manic depressive.

