Tags

, , ,

Beatrix Potter

Beatrix Potter

 

Author: Beatrix Potter

Dates: 28 July 1866 – 22 December 1943

Nationality: English

Title of Book: The Tale of Mr. Jeremy Fisher

“I will get some worms and go fishing and catch a dish of minnows for my dinner,” said Mr. Jeremy Fisher. “If I catch more than five fish, I will invite my friends Mr. Alderman Ptolemy Tortoise and Sir Isaac Newton. The Alderman, however, eats salad.”

Mr. Jeremy put on a mackintosh, and a pair of shiny galoshes; he took his rod and basket, and set off with enormous hops to the place where he kept his boat.

The boat was round and green, and very like the other lily-leaves. It was tied to a water-plant in the middle of the pond.

Mr. Jeremy took a reed pole, and pushed the boat out into open water. “I know a good place for minnows,” said Mr. Jeremy Fisher.

Mr. Jeremy stuck his pole into the mud and fastened the boat to it.

Brief Biography: Potter was an author, illustrator, natural scientist and conservationist. She is best known for her imaginative children’s books featuring animals. Potter was also a prize-winning breeder of Herdwick sheep.

