Tags

, , ,

Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni (Michelangelo)

Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni (Michelangelo)

Artist: Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni

Dates: 6 March 1475 – 18 February 1564

Nationality: Italian

Title of Piece: Sistine Chapel Ceiling: Creation of Adam/Xxx. to tommaso de’ cavalieri

 

Sistine Chapel Ceiling: Creation of Adam by Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni

Sistine Chapel Ceiling: Creation of Adam by Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni

Xxx. to tommaso de’ cavalieri

LOVE THE LIGHT-GIVER.

Veggio co’ bei vostri occhi.

With your fair eyes a charming light I see,
For which my own blind eyes would peer in vain;
Stayed by your feet the burden I sustain
Which my lame feet find all too strong for me;
Wingless upon your pinions forth I fly;
Heavenward your spirit stirreth me to strain;
E’en as you will, I blush and blanch again,
Freeze in the sun, burn ‘neath a frosty sky.
Your will includes and is the lord of mine;
Life to my thoughts within your heart is given;
My words begin to breathe upon your breath:
Like to the moon am I, that cannot shine
Alone; for lo! our eyes see nought in heaven
Save what the living sun illumineth.

 

 

Brief Biography: Michelangelo was a sculptor, painter and poet of the High Renaissance era. In his lifetime he was considered to be the greatest living artist, and is one of the most highly regarded to this day and the most documented artist of the 6th century. It is said Michelangelo, although rich, lived a monastic life in poverty and squalor even denying himself from physical relationships. However his sexuality is made apparent in his poetry.

